Tags

, , , , ,

I’m stuffed, much like the Thanksgiving turkey I enjoyed over the holiday! I traveled, visited, ate, cooked, and didn’t cross a single recipe off my list. But, I certainly enjoyed myself! Now I’m settling back into reality; coming off my holiday high, realizing the cooking challenge is becoming next to impossible, and that I haven’t written for ages (or over a week).

So, I’m back to plowing through recipes in a mad attempt to complete this hair-brained challenge. I should probably just give up before I’m completely broke or crazy or both. But, I don’t think I’m ready to concede defeat just yet. However, if I disappear for a while you’ll know I’ve lost it and my sweetie has confiscated my computer for a while.

As for the recipe de jour I thought I would share a very healthy, veggie loaded salsa to help shake off the holiday haze of rich foods.

Mexican Salsa (adapted from Sauces)

1 can tomatoes, partially drained

½ sweet onion, chopped

½ green bell pepper, chopped

1 jalapeno, minced (2 if you like it spicy)

1 ripe avocado, chopped

1 bunch cilantro, minced

4 cloves garlic, minced

2 Tbs lime juice

Combine all ingredients and allow to sit for about 2 hours to allow the flavors to mellow. Serve with tortilla chips.

