Tags

, , , , ,

This is the first recipe in Julie/Julia book (which I loved). Based on her description of the dish I was expecting a lovely creamy soup… All rich and simple. Honestly, what I got was a lot more like thin mashed potatoes. I don’t know what I did wrong to get such a thick end product, but there’s no way it’s supposed to be that thick!

Also, it was a little bland. I should have stuck to my guns and added garlic and crushed red pepper while it was simmering. But, I tried to stay true to a recipe for once. However, once I topped it with cheese, bacon, and some minced jalapeno it was pretty delicious.

 

Potage Parmentier (adapted from Mastering the Art of French Cooking)

1/2 lb potato, peeled and diced

1 1/2 c white onion, thinly sliced

1 qts water

2 Tbs butter

2 Tbs minced parsley

Dash celery salt and black pepper

(I would suggest adding 4 cloves garlic, a tsp crushed red pepper flakes, and some chicken broth)

 

Simmer potatoes, onions, water, pepper and salt in a large soup pot for 40 to 50 minutes partially covered, until vegetables are soft.

Mash the vegetables in the soup with a potato ricer and correct seasoning.

Remove from the heat and stir in butter just before serving. Serve decorated with parsley.

