Tags

, , , , ,

This soup kind of scared me when I first read the recipe. I’ve never made a soup that called for apples and I was more then a little uncertain about including them. I couldn’t be happier I did follow the recipe though. The soup was amazing! It is rich and hardy with a wonderful and varied selection of vegetables.

I can honestly say this is one of my new favorite soups! I will defiantly be making this one again. Plus, it’s a great use of left-over chicken (the original recipe called for lamb, which I don’t generally keep laying around). I would highly recommend it if your feeling like a new soup.

Mulligatawny Soup (adapted from Roasting)

1Tbs olive oil

1 ½ tsp Madras curry powered

4 cloves garlic, minced

¼ tsp ground nutmeg

1/8 tsp ground cloves

1 onion, chopped

1 carrot, chopped

1 stalk celery, chopped

½ green bell pepper, chopped

½ zucchini, chopped

5 c chicken broth

2 can crushed tomatoes

½ c pearl barley

1 c apple and leek puree

1 Tbs lemon juice

2 Tbs parsley

10 oz cooked chicken, chopped

Heat oil in a large soup pot, add curry, garlic, nutmeg, and cloves; cook over low heat for 2 minutes. Add the onion, carrot, celery, pepper, and zucchini; cook for about 5 to 6 minutes.

Add stock, tomatoes, and barley; cover and bring to a boil. Reduce to a simmer and cook for about 50 minutes. Add apple and leek puree, parsley, chicken, and lemon juice. Cook for another 10 minutes.

