Tags

,

I love brusnwick stew. It is possibly one of my favorite soups. So, of course it only makes sense to try to create a version of it right in my own kitchen (especially since it’s been so cold here in the south recently!). While I certainly enjoy this soup, it didn’t really taste like Brunswick stew to me. Maybe it wasn’t quite as sweet as some versions, also might have been that I used ground turkey instead of shredded chicken.

A southern chef’s version might be more along the lines of what I’m looking for (thinking Paula Dean, the southern queen :-)). I’ll have to let you know how it goes when I give it a try.

This is a really pleasant soup, just don’t expect it to taste like a true bunswick stew. Oo and by the way, it’s super easy!

Brusnwick Stew

14 oz ground turkey

1 medium onion, diced

4 cloves garlic, minced

1 can diced tomatoes

1 can tomato paste

1 c frozen sliced okra

1 ½ c frozen corn

1 c frozen lima beans

1 bay leaf

½ tsp dried rosemary

¼ tsp dried oregano

Healthy dash black pepper

3 c chicken stock

Brown the ground turkey in a large soup pot over medium high heat. Add onion and garlic and sauté for another 5 to 6 minutes. Add all remaining ingredients and simmer for about an hour.

