Tags

, , ,

I don’t come home every night and make a big dinner. There are certainly times when I do nothing more then toss some veggies in a tortilla and call it dinner. However, I love making the more complex dishes too (when I’m not dead tired). This curry is definitely a bit of work, but its well worth it! It was a fantastic combination sweet, spicy and tangy. Truly a great version of curry.

While I stayed as true to the recipe as I could (obviously I added a bell pepper, as I can’t seem to cook without them) I think scallops or chicken would also be a good in place of the shrimp. Granted, I am a big fan of scallops and I think they would probably be good in anything.

Sweet and Hot Shrimp Curry (adapted from 50 Great Curries of India)

1 lb peeled shrimp

2 tsp tamarind paste

5 serrano chilies, chopped

4 cloves garlic

1 tsp cumin seeds

2 Tbs olive oil

1 lg onion, sliced

1 green bell pepper, sliced

½ tsp cumin powder

¾ tsp coriander powder

¾ tsp red chili powder

1 tsp garam masala

½ tsp turmeric powder

1 can tomatoes

1/3 c water

2 Tbs lime juice

1 tsp curry powder

1/3 c cilantro, chopped

 

Purée the tamarind paste, chilies, garlic, and cumin seeds to a paste.

Heat the oil in a wok over medium-high heat and fry the onions and bell pepper for about 10 minutes. Add the paste and cook for another three or four minutes.

Add the cumin, coriander, red chili, garam masala, turmeric powder, tomatoes, and water to the wok and cook for 10 minutes. Add the remaining ingredients and cook until the dish begins to thicken.

Add the shrimp and cook until they turn pink.

Serve over brown rice.

