Tags

, , , , ,

My dad made bananas foster for us growing up and it was definitely a family favorite (although his cheesecake is the best dessert he makes hands down, but that’s another post for another day). It’s such a simple and delicious dessert. Best of all, people think of it as “nice” or “fancy,” when it’s really super simple. In fact, this version only uses 6 ingredients, and that’s if we are including the vanilla ice cream I served it over! By the way, Breyers makes a great lactose-free vanilla ice cream. I strongly suggest it, and honestly wish they would add more lactose-free flavors!

I enjoy telling myself that if desserts include fruit then they aren’t as bad for you. I can certainly tell myself that with this treat. You do want to make sure you’re using ripe bananas, as they are the stars of the show. And if you want to get really fancy, you can use banana liqueur and 151 (I was lazy and didn’t bother flambéing my version, so I just used regular rum).

Simple Banana’s Foster

1/3 c brown sugar

4 Tbs butter

1 tsp cinnamon

3 bananas, quartered

¼ c rum

Heat a cast iron skillet over medium high heat, add butter, brown sugar, and cinnamon and cook until bubbling. Add the bananas and cook for another 5 minutes. Add rum and cook for 2 to 3 minutes.*

Serve over vanilla ice cream. (see, told you it was easy!)

 

*If you want to get fancy, this is where you add you 151 and light the dish. However, if you’re using 151 you will only use 1oz of the highly flammable liquid.

