Tags

, , , , ,

I have to be honest, I have not even been a little good about working out or eating healthy lately. With my sister’s wedding coming up it is more then time to get back on the wagon. I need to get back in the habit of working out and eating light and healthy.

Considering I was fantasizing about a massive bowl of pasta the entire drive home, I was less then motivated to work-out. However, I dragged my butt to the gym and did a very weak jog (but at least I made it there). I followed up the work out with a healthy and quick dinner. Yes, I am feeling a little self satisfied right now. Now if only I can resist the chocolate in the cabinet I’ll win for the day! (One day down… it’s a start right).

Side note: I would advise making this with fresh ginger and garlic, however I had neither on hand. Apparently Kroger can’t get fresh garlic right now due to some freeze somewhere… I’m not exactly happy about this one. Also, I served this over brown rice.

Asian Shrimp Stir-Fry – It’s healthy, fast and really tasty!

1 1/2 tbs olive oil

1 bell pepper, sliced

½ onion, sliced

1 c baby carrots, sliced

½ head broccoli

4 oz mushrooms, sliced

2 tbs hoisin sauce

1 tsp white wine vinegar

2 tsp lime juice

1 tsp ginger powder

1 tsp garlic powder

¼ tsp cinnamon

1 tbs siraricha

1 ½ c shrimp, cleaned and deveined

 

Heat the oil in a large wok over medium heat, add all of the veggies and cook for about 10 minutes. Add all of the sauce, vinegar, lime juice, and spiced and cook for another 5 to 10 minutes, stirring regularly.

Add the shrimp and cook for 8 minutes.

Serve over brown rice.

