Tags

, ,

My sweetie has been very found of tom yum soup ever since I introduced it too him a year or so ago. So much so that he has requested we try to make it. Well a few weekends back the amazing weather and a long walk inspired me to have a thai night (I really like doing theme nights when it comes to food). So, since we were planning a thai night, I decided to go ahead and give the soup a try.

It was quite pleasant, brothy and spicy and good. However a recent dinner at a Thai restaurant reminded me what really great tom yum soup tastes like. So this recipe still needs some work, but it is a simple and tasty place to start. I’ll up-date you if I figure out how to improve this, please feel free to share any great tricks or tips you might have.

By the way, my sweetie was pretty psyched about our homemade soup endeavors. I think I may have scoured a few bonus points!

Tom Yum Soup

2 quarts chicken broth

2 stalks fresh lemongrass, sliced on a bias in 2-inch pieces

1-inch piece fresh ginger, chopped

2 red chiles, chopped

2 tablespoons fish sauce

Dash sugar and red pepper flakes

8 oz mushrooms, rinsed and sliced

1 pound large shrimp, peeled

4 Tbs lime juice

2 green onions, sliced

1 bunch cilantro, chopped

 

Bring the stock to the boil over medium heat in a saucepan. Add the lemongrass, ginger, 2 Tbs lime, and chilies. Reduce the heat and simmer for 10 minutes.

Add the fish sauce, sugar, red pepper flakes and mushrooms. Simmer another 5 to 10 minutes. Add the shrimp, lime juice, green onions, and ½ the cilantro and cook for about 8 minutes until they turn pink. Remove from the heat and add the remainder of the cilantro to individual bowls as you serve.

(Fair warning, don’t eat the lemongrass, it’s not tasty!)

