Someday I am going to be brave enough to make my own pasta… but possibly not until I get my kitchen aid with a pasta attachment (a girl can dream). However this was not the day. I did, however, make my own ravioli with store-bought pasta. Whole Foods has great “raw” pasta that makes it easy to create said raviolis.

Now, in all honesty I was getting exceptionally frustrated while trying to make these. The filling was trying to escape and they didn’t seem to be sealing properly. However, they came together beautifully. We topped it with a basic tomato sauce and some more parmesan and it was tasty!  I think when I make these again I will probably go with some mushrooms as well.

Spinach Ravioli (adapted from Cooking Light)

1/2 c shredded parmesan

1/8 tsp nutmeg

3 cloves garlic

10 oz frozen spinach

1 egg white, lightly beaten

Pasta sheets

1 egg, beaten

Put the first 5 ingredients into a food processor and pulse until they are thoroughly combined.

Cut the pasta into 2 inch squares. Spoon a tablespoon of the filling into the center of a square and brush the edges with egg. Brush a second square with egg and press it gently over the first square. Press the edges firmly together to seal the ravioli.

Gently drop the ravioli into lightly boiling water in small batches. Cook for 5 to 7 minutes. Remove with a slotted spoon.

Serve topped with tomato sauce and more parmesan.

