Tags

, ,

This is a recipe from my family cookbook my aunt put together for the family a little while back. I definitely altered it a bit, but it is a keeper and well worth making again. It was quick and delicious and a wonderful combination of sweet and spicy. My sweetie was a bit fan (shocker, I know).

This doesn’t exactly fit into my current diet, but if you pull out the butter it almost does. Over brown rice (not the delicious fried rice I served it with) it is just about healthy. In fact, I am thinking about cooking this this week, now that I’m writing about it. Maybe I’ll just eat a smaller portion!

Ps this whole working out And eating right thing is going alright. I just need to be a little more consistent about the working out and a little better about what I’m eating… Self control’s not exactly my strong suite. Here’s to being better the next few weeks. I started using one of those stupid calorie counter apps and it’s helping me be good.

Elkins Pineapple Chicken

1 lb chicken breast, chunked

½ c flour

4 Tbs butter

½ medium onion, minced

2 cloves garlic, minced

8 oz can of pineapple chunks

½ c pineapple juice

1 Tbs apple cider vinegar

1 Tbs soy sauce

1 Tbs Sriracha

1 tsp powdered ginger

¼ c packed brown sugar

 

Coat chicken with flour, seasoned with salt and black pepper.

Brown chicken in butter in a large sauté pan over medium-high heat. Add onion and garlic and cook for another 8 minutes.

Drain the pineapple, reserving the juice. Add the pineapple chunks, juice, and all remaining ingredients to the pan and cook until thickened.

Serve over rice (fried rice is best, but brown rice is healthier)!

 

