A balanced life is kind of like a well balanced dish; elusive! Sometimes everything just falls together perfectly, other times you work and work to no avail. That is kind of where I am in life right now. Don’t get me wrong, so many aspects of my life are great, and I almost feel silly complaining with a job and co-workers I enjoy, amazing friends and family, and of course my sweetie. But I just feel like things just aren’t falling together as easily as I would like. There is always laundry to do, dishes to wash, or errands to run. Finding time to cook has been a struggle lately; finding time to write, even more so. There is always something that has to get sacrificed to get something else done. But I promise, I’m trying to be better about posting!

 

Not the most enticing picture, but it tastes good!

In all honesty I think finding that balance is generally pretty elusive, and won’t be something I manage anytime soon. Especially not since I’ve been on this (not too effective) health kick. Finding time for the gym, cooking and the rest of my to do list borders on impossible some days.

On a positive note, my health kick got me to try out the recipe I’m sharing with you today. I was trying to figure out how to cook some pork chops (growing up pork chops always = pan friend with apple sauce or honey, delicious but not quite as light as I was aiming for) and came upon this recipe! It’s great, and I didn’t feel too guilty after eating it! So, with our further ado (or whining) I give you Pork Chops au Poivre.

Pork Chops au Poivre with Apple and Leek Puree (adapted from The Olives Table)

Apple and Leek Puree

1 Tbs olive oil

1 leek, washed and sliced

2 apples, peeled and sliced

¼ c lemon juice

1 Tbs packed brown sugar

Dash ground coriander, ginger, and cinnamon

Heat the olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add all ingredients and cook until apples and leeks are very soft, about 7 minutes. Transfer to a food processor and puree. Set aside.

Pork Chops

4 thick cut pork chops

Coarsely ground black pepper

Dry rosemary

1 Tbs olive oil

Pre heat the oven to 425°.

Heat a large cast iron skillet with the olive oil over medium high heat.

Rub the pork chops with the black pepper and rosemary. Place the pork chops into the hot skillet and brown on both sides. Transfer to the oven and bake for about 15 to 20 minutes.

Serve the pork chops toped with the apple leek puree.

