Tags

, , ,

Boston Clam Chowder

I’ve hardly been cooking recently, as I’m sure you have gathered from the rare posting. Don’t get me wrong, I’m trying to; everything just seems to be getting in the way. I guess that’s just life, isn’t it! Honestly wedding planning has been quite overwhelming and has taken over what little spare time I had. While I know it’s still early I’ve been stressing out because we don’t have a location. Hopefully once a location and date have been set my stress level will decline and I’ll get back into my normal routine. On the positive side, not cooking = less dishes and less dishes to wash means my nail polish is holding up well (got to keep my hands looking good now that I have a ring to show off, at least for the first few months)!

But back to the food! After all the terrible storms the south has endured recently (please keep the people affected by the horrible storms in your prayers) we have had a few day’s of unseasonably cool weather. Cold weather always makes me want soup. I’m not entirely sure why, but it just does! So, I pulled a tub of soup out of my freezer yesterday and while chowing down, I realized that I had never shared it! Considering how delicious it was both the day I made it and months later, I figured I probably should.

This was a recipe my sweetie chose for the cooking challenge last year. The original recipe, which you know I am incapable of sticking to, came from my Taste of the World cookbook that my soon-to-be parents-in-law gave me for my birthday last year. We made it for dinner back in November and it was seriously good. I’ve done my best to remember what we did differently!

Boston Clam Chowder (A Taste of the World)

6 slices of bacon, cooked and crumbled

1 lg onion, chopped

1 bell pepper, chopped

6 cloves garlic

3 celery stalks, chopped

2 carrots, chopped

2 medium potatoes, chopped

1 bay leaf

Healthy dash thyme, oregano, basil, and red pepper flakes

2 c canned diced tomatoes with juice

1 ½ c water

¾ c clam juice

½ lb bay scallops

1 can clams

½ c chopped flat leaf parsley

2 Tbs fresh lemon juice

In a large soup pot over medium high heat, combine the bacon, onion, pepper, garlic, celery, and potato. Sauté for 15 to 20 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add the bay leaf, thyme, oregano, basil, and red pepper flakes and sauté for a few more minutes.

Add the tomatoes, water and clam juice and simmer for 20 to 30 minutes.

Add the scallops and clams and cook for another 6 to 10 minutes.

Remove from heat and add ¼ c parsley and the lemon juice, stir well. Garnish with remaining parsley when you serve.

