Tags

, ,

I may or may not have been a kind of weird kid (I blame this entirely on my parents!) growing up. Example of this: for many, many years my birthday dinner of choice was red beans and rice. Seriously, when my parent’s asked me what I wanted for birthday dinner, my answer was beans and rice. See, not a normal kid! So in honor of that and my birthday I am re-posting my beloved red beans and rice recipe. I highly suggest you give it a try!

Dad’s Red Beans

2 lbs dry red beans)

1 large onion, chopped

2 celery stalks, chopped

½ green bell pepper, chopped

1 jalapeno

4-6 cloves garlic

Spicy sausage (aka Andouille) or shredded pork shoulder

2 bay leaves

Salt

Dash cayenne, Thyme, and parsley

Sort and rinse the dry beans to remove any stones and dirt. Soak beans overnight in large soup pot.

Drain beans and set aside.

Sauté onion, celery, bell pepper, jalapeno, and garlic over medium heat for about 10 minutes. Slice meat into chunks and add to pot, sauté until fully cooked.

Add beans, 6 c. water, and remaining seasonings and simmer for 2 – 4 hours; until beans are fully cooked and broth thickens.

Best served over rice.

