Tags

, , , ,

Yes, I realize it’s been over a month since my last post. In fact, it has been so long since I last posted a friend actually asked me if I had given up the blog. I promise that’s not the case! I’ve just been boarder line crazy busy with life and been far to lazy about writing or even cooking! I swear it has been on my to do list… it just seems like everything else on the list is more pressing. But as I was recently reminded that I need to write, and I found a few spare minutes, here we go!

I think I’m one of the few people who likes soup year round. Even in the ridiculous heat of summer in the south, I still have random soup cravings. Now this particular soup craving is entirely to blame on one of my co-workers who brought in some of the most amazing tomato bisque I’ve ever had. So, of course I had to go home and attempt my own version.

I thought this came out quite well. It’s not as amazing as the inspirational soup; it was a tasty take on it.

 

Creamy Tomato Bisque

1 Tbs olive oil

¼ sweet onion, minced

4 – 6 cloves garlic, minced

Hardy dash dry basil, cayenne, black pepper, celery

1 can tomato sauce

1 c red wine

1 c cream

1 Tbs flour

1/3 c shredded white cheddar cheese

salt

 

Sauté the onion and garlic with olive oil in a medium sauce pan over medium heat for about 10 minutes, or until the onions begin to brown. Add the spices and cook for another minute.

Add the tomato sauce and wine, bring to a boil and simmer for 10 minutes, stirring regularly.

Wisk together the cream and flower. Slowly pour the mixture into the pot, whisking as you pour. Bring back to a boil, stirring regularly until the soup begins to thicken, about 5 minutes. Add the cheese and cook for a few minutes.

Serve hot. Best with cheese and fresh basil on top.

