Tags

, , , ,

To say that I’ve been overwhelmed lately would probably be an understatement. I keep trying to do better; be more organized, less frantic, and to get my various to do lists knocked out. But lately I’m just barely keeping my head above water. In the midst of all the work/wedding stuff/house hunting I have learned a few things:

  • Asking for help and saying no (when it’s appropriate) will help immensely at work. People are generally very helpful and understanding.
  • Planning a wedding is not nearly as fun as it sounds. I have found it to be a ton of research/stress/frustration trying to create the wedding you want with in the parameters of reality.
  • HGTV lies – buying a house is no where near as easy as they make it look! We have gone over so many different numbers, calculations, and so much legalese my head is going to be spinning for weeks.
  • I am a bad dieter… I had the terrible realization last Sunday that my engagement pictures were less than a week away and some slimming and toning was much needed. I created a pretty good “quick” diet plan, but I am miserable trying to stick to it.

Now on a more positive note, I created a pretty darn good “light” dinner last night as a result of my dieting stupidity. It was a quick, easy and seriously tasty dinner!

 

Goat Cheese Stuffed Portabella Mushrooms

2 Portabella mushrooms

2 ½ oz herb goat cheese

¼ c bread crumbs

¼ c chopped frozen spinach, thawed and drained

3 cloves garlic, minced

Dash dry rosemary, basil, and crushed black pepper

Splash balsamic vinegar

 

Sauce:

½ medium sweet onion, minced

½ bell pepper, minced

4 cloves garlic, minced

1 can tomato sauce

2 oz spicy tomato juice

2 Tbs lemon juice

1 Tbs balsamic vinegar

Dash red pepper flakes

2 Tbs chopped fresh basil and parsley

 

Pre-heat oven to 450°.

Heat a large sauté pan over medium-high heat with 1 Tbs oil. Cook portabellas  for 5 minutes on each side.

While they cook combine the goat cheese, bread crumbs, spinach, garlic, rosemary, basil, and crushed black pepper. Mix thoroughly.

Gently press the filling into the mushroom caps, place on a baking sheet, and bake for about 20 minutes.

While the mushrooms bake, make the sauce and whole wheat pasta.

Add the onion, bell pepper, and garlic to the sauté pan and cook for about 6 to 8 minutes. Add all the remaining ingredients and simmer over medium-low heat until the mushrooms are done.

Serve the mushrooms over whole wheat pasta, toped with the sauce.

