Tags

, , , , , ,

Well, I have survived (and enjoyed quite a bit of it while I was at it) a very busy few weeks. We closed on a house, my sister got married, we moved, I orchestrated a huge work event, my honey dealt with quarter end, we got a good bit of work done on the house, got appliances delivered, and we have come out the other end alive! Sister’s wedding was beautiful (and I have a brother now!), we love the house and our work stuff went well. So all in all, life is going well and has finally calmed down! This also means I finally have the chance to start cooking again!

 

This bit of baking was prompted by my office’s biannual bake sale, which I always volunteer for. As busy as this fall has been I decided against doing cake balls since they are so time consuming. I settled on my family’s tried and true chocolate chip peanut butter cookie and my Betty Crocker Nut Bread. Only, me being me, I couldn’t just do the basic banana nut bread. I decided I wanted to go seasonal and try apple nut bread.

 

I love a good, crisp, tart, fall apple. Bake that into a sweet nut bread and it makes a fabulous fall treat. I made this one with honey crisp apples and walnuts, but you can certainly change the apple and nut parings based on your preference!

 

Apple Cinnamon Nut Bread (adapted from Betty Crocker)

1 ¾ fresh apple, cored and chopped

1 Tbs butter

2 ½ cups All-purpose flour

1 cup sugar

3 ½ tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

3 Tbs oil

¾ cup milk

1 egg

1 cup chopped nuts

 

Melt butter in a large sauté pan over low heat, add apples and continue to cook for about 20 minutes, or until apples are soft. Set aside to cool.

Pre heat the oven to 350 and grease and flour either 2 loaf pans or a 8” x 8” x 2” pan.

Thoroughly mix all remaining ingredients in a large bowl.

Mash about ½ of the cooked apples with a fork and add to other ingredients. Mix the apples in well.

Pour the batter into the pan. Top with brown sugar and cinnamon (I garnished my loafs with a few thin apple slices).

Bake for 55 to 60 minutes.

