Tags

, , , , ,

Judging by the fact that I haven’t posted in over a month, I’m think I might of spoken too soon when I ever so proudly announced I was back… Things are starting to fall into a more consistent rhythm in our home. But there is always so much to do, on top of wedding planning that is! Now don’t get me wrong, I’ve really got nothing to complain about. But it has made blogging more then a little bit difficult.
But enough whining about not having enough time and on to the good stuff! My sweetie and I are trying to be better about what we eat so we can slim down for the wedding a bit. I’m also trying to make sure we’re being good about using any leftovers we have (which is how this vinaigrette came to be!). This is a great salad and a fun way to use leftover cranberry sauce (the homemade variety).
The salad itself certainly requires no recipe, just spinach, crasins, walnuts, a pear, goat cheese, and baked chicken breast. What I want to share is the Cranberry-Balsamic vinaigrette, which starts with balsamic marinated onions!
I tend to marinate onions for salads, all I do is thinly slice onion and cover them in balsamic vinegar and 1 tsp honey. Just let them sit, stirring occasionally for about 15 to 20 minutes.

Cranberry-Balsamic Vinaigrette
Reserved vinegar from the onions
2 Tbs leftover cranberry sauce
2 tsp olive oil

Mix all ingredients thoroughly and drizzle over your salad!

