Tags

, , , ,

 

I would like to tell you that I have resolved to be better about posting this year, that I have lots of great post all lined up, but that wouldn’t be the truth. Life only seems to get busier as time passes. I do hope I’ll be better about posting regularly once the wedding is past!

As for my promised pad thai recipe… It doesn’t quite qualify for healthy, but it’s not too terrible for you, and it is beyond tasty! I’ve been making it for a while now, ever since the roomie suggested we try to make it ourselves and we were disappointed by the bottled sauce we tried. I’m so glad I gave it a try because it’s been good every time we’ve made it! It’s a favorite of mine, the roomie’s, and my sweeties.

I have made this dish a number of different ways: adding coconut milk for more sauce, using crunchy peanut butter vs. creamy, adding more veggies, using shrimp. This recipe’s a good starting point, but feel free to have fun with it and adjust it to your liking. You know that’s what I always do!

 

My Pad Thai

1 Tbs peanut oil (or olive oil)

1raw chicken breast, thinly sliced

½ sweet onion, sliced

½ sweet bell pepper, sliced

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 Tbs minced fresh ginger

½ c peanut butter

1 Tbs soy sauce

1 Tbs lime juice

1 Tbs vinegar (rice or apple cider)

1 tsp to 1 Tbs Sriracha – depending on how hot you like it

2 tsp brown sugar

 

Rice noodles, soaked in warm water

 

Garnish with chopped peanuts, cilantro and been sprouts

 

Heat oil over medium high heat in a large wok, add sliced chicken breast and cook for 5 to 8 minutes, until cooked through. Add onion and bell pepper and sauté for 10 minutes. Drop the heat and add the garlic and ginger, tossing gently.

Add the peanut butter, soy sauce, lime juice, vinegar, Sriracha, and brown sugar to the wok. Cook for 10 to 15 minutes, until all ingredients are thoroughly combine.

Serve over the rice noodles, top with chopped peanuts, cilantro and been sprouts.

