Tags

, , ,

 

I think I’ve mentioned here before that I grew up on Cajun cooking. My paternal grandparents settled in New Orleans when my dad was a teenager and we went to visit all the time growing up. Dad cooks up some great Cajun food! So, spinach Madeleine was something we enjoyed from time to time, although not terribly often as it’s not the healthiest dish on the face of the planet.

 

So when I was throwing together a Cajun themed dinner last week and had some spinach that needed using, I decided to see if I could make it from vague memory. I was also working to make it a little healthier. Which having actually looked up the recipe today, I think I managed!

 

This was a fantastic side for some blacked tilapia and Mexican rice!

 

“Lite” Spinach Madeleine

1 Tbs butter

1/2 c minced onion

3 cloves minced garlic

4 c fresh baby spinach

2 Tbs lite cream cheese

1/2 c Monterey jack cheese

1/4 c skim milk

2 Tbs diced jalapenos

 

Melt butter in a medium pan over medium heat. Add onion and garlic and sauté for 10 minutes. Add spinach and gently stir until wilted. Add all remaining ingredients and continue reduce heat. Cook for 15 minutes, or until thickened.

