Tags

, , , , ,

Bruschetta Salad with shrimp

As you can tell from my last post, I’m on a bit of a salad kick lately. Now this isn’t just because I have the fitting Saturday. It’s also due to a decision my sweetie and I made shortly after moving in together. We decided we needed to eat better, and part of that was making an effort to eat a salad for dinner once a week. Surprisingly enough we have been pretty good about this for the past few months. The only problem being I felt my salads were getting very repetitive.

Fortunately enough, I had the pleasure of attending a tasting for a big fundraiser a few weeks back and it happened to be centered around entree salads (this would be that same tasting I referenced in my last post)! I was pleasantly surprised and inspired by the combinations they presented. While I usually feel silly sharing salad ideas, I loved these combinations so much I just had to share my versions with you. Because if you’re anything like me, it’s easy to get stuck in a salad rut.

Now, as a side note, this salad really needs cheese toast. With as lite and healthy as the rest of the salad is, there is definitely room for a little bread! I also find the bread helps balance out the acidy of the tomatoes and the dressing. I just toasted up some French bread we had in the house with a little parmesan and balsamic vinegar.

Bruschetta Salad with Pesto Shrimp

Baby Spinach
Fresh Bruschetta (you could also use a jarred version in this to make it a little easier!)
½ c Grape tomatoes, chopped
¼ Sweet onion, minced
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 Tbs balsamic vinegar
Drizzle of olive oil
Combine all ingredients, toss together and set aside.
Goat cheese
Pecans
Pesto Shrimp
1 lb shrimp, peeled and deveined
2 tsp lemon juice
2 – 3 Tbs pesto
Drizzle of  olive oil

Heat olive oil in a medium sauté pan over medium heat. While the pan is heating gently toss the shrimp in the pesto and lemon juice. Add shrimp to the pre-heated pan. Cook until pink, about 6 to 8 minutes. Remove from the pan and place on top of the salads. Reserve the remaining pesto in the pan for the salad dressing.

Pesto-Balsamic vinaigrette

1 – 2 Tbs Pesto
3 Tbs balsamic vinegar
2 Tbs olive oil

Wisk and drizzle over the salads.

 

