Tags

, , ,

It’s hard to believe, but the wedding is just ten days away now! Between the fast approaching day and my sweetie’s recent decision to embark on P90x, we are making extra effort to eat well. And with all the stress and increased work outs I’m feeling an extra strong urge to indulge in comfort food! However, I’m doing my best to stick with some of my lighter favorites. Southwest eggrolls fall into that category for me.

I suggested these for dinner the other day and my sweetie responded with a resounding yes and a request for duck sauce… (he loves duck sauce). Which made me realize I haven’t made these for him before; because if I had he would of known they come with a killer avocado dip. This also made me realize I hadn’t shared them here, yet. Shame on me…

After much pleading for duck sauce on his part and much arguing against it on mine, he final conceded that the eggrolls were delicious with my sauce. These are pretty healthy over all. More so if you roll them in whole wheat tortillas and limit your dipping.

Southwest Eggrolls

2 chicken breast, poached and cubed
½ red bell pepper, chopped
½ green bell pepper, chopped
½ sweet onion, chopped
1 c frozen corn
1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
½ bunch cilantro, chopped
Dash cumin, coriander, black pepper, garlic powder, red pepper, and tabasco
2 c low-fat cheddar cheese
8 – 10 tortillas

Pre-heat oven to 375⁰

Heat olive oil in a large sauté pan over medium heat. Add bell peppers and onion, and sauté for 10 to 15 minutes. Add corn, black beans, cilantro and spices to the pan and continue cooking for another 5 to 10 minutes.

In a large mixing bowl combine cheese, chicken, and veggie mixture and stir thoroughly.

Lightly grease a baking sheet.

Spoon a generous portion of filling into the center of a tortilla. Fold two sides in towards each other, over the filling, and then roll firmly.  Place edge down onto the backing sheet. Leave space between the rolls so they can brown. Place in the oven and back for 20 to 30 minutes or until they begin to brown.

While the eggrolls bake you can make the dipping sauce (below).

Remove the eggrolls from the oven and allow to cool for 5 to 10 minutes. Cut each roll at an angle before serving (this helps them cool, makes them easier to eat and makes them look pretty).

Avocado Dipping Sauce

1 ripe avocado
½ bunch cilantro, chopped
1/3 c fat free sour cream
¼ c mayonnaise
2 Tbs lime juice
¼ c apple cider vinegar

Healthy dash onion powder, garlic powder, black pepper, chili powder, cumin and coriander

Pulse all ingredients in a food processor until completely smooth.