Tags

, , , ,

Blackberry-pecan and blueberry-hazelnut

I am officially a married woman! The wedding was lovely and the honeymoon was wonderfully tropical. And now that we’re home, our ridiculously busy schedule is finally slowing down. I’m happy to say I’ve actually been back in the kitchen a bit lately! In fact I managed 3 different variations on banana bread last weekend, we’ve pulled out our crockpot 4 times since we’ve been home, and I’ve tried at least 6 new recipes! This also means I finally have a little time to get back on here and share some of those with you.

I’m hoping that our slower schedule will mean I have more time to blog. I’ve been a terrible blogger for a while now! Our main focus, with the wedding behind us, is getting our house put together. We also have a little veggie garden that’s producing beautifully! All in all, I should have some stuff worth sharing again!

Banana Bread is one of my favorite breakfast foods and it’s easy to dress up with other spring/summer fruits. So here are 3 variations I’ve made recently:

Banana Nut Bread

2 ½ cups All-purpose flour*
1 cup sugar
3 ½ tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
3 Tbs oil
¾ cup milk
1 egg
1 c chopped nuts
1 c mashed ripe banana (2 to 3)
2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp nutmeg
1 c berries (I did blueberry-hazelnut, blackberry-pecan, and strawberry-walnut)

 

Heat oven to 350°. Grease and flour a 8×8-inch loaf pan or 2 8 ½ x 4 ½ -inch loaf pans.

Measure all ingredients into a large mixer bowl and mix thoroughly, getting the batter smooth.

Pour into pan(s). Bake 55 to 65 minutes or until wooden pick inserted into center comes out clean. Remove from pan and allow to cool at least 5 minutes before slicing.

