Tags

, , , ,

These stuffed zucchini are actually inspired by a recipe I stumbled upon on Pintrest the other day (Yes, I’m one of the many who’s totally addicted to Pintrest and spends way too much time on there). While they are complete diversion from the recipe I originally found, it is what got me thinking about stuffing the zucchini’s in the first place.  Honestly it took me a while to get around to making these because hubby was a bit resistant to the idea at first. However, as is often the case, once they were on his plate he loved them!

These made for a very easy and delicious dinner. And I’m pretty sure, just like any other stuffed “anything” recipe, there about 100 billion variations that would be stellar. I’m specifically leaning towards a “pizza” stuffed zucchini recipe I saw the other day. Hubby does love his Italian food!

Oo, and side note, these re-headed deliciously for lunch the next day. I always love recipes that make good leftovers!

Pork Stuffed Zucchini

1 Tbs fat-free cream cheese
¼ c fire roasted tomatoes with garlic
1 shallot, minced
1-2 tsp black pepper
1 tsp minced fresh basil
½ tsp minced fresh sage
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 c Smoked pork loin, chopped
½ c shredded mozzarella
2 zucchinis
¼ c shredded parmesan
Drizzle of rosemary olive oil and balsamic vinegar

Preheat oven to 400⁰.

In a large bowl mix together everything but the zucchini, parmesan, oil and vinegar. Set aside.

Slice the zucchinis lengthwise. Gently scrape the seeds from the center and discard. Press the filling into the hollowed zucchini halves. Place on a roasting pan and top each half with parmesan, drizzle with olive oil and balsamic.

Bake for 25 to 30 minutes, or until the zucchini is fork soft.

