Tags

, ,

Well, our squash and zucchini plants seem to be slowing down and we are no longer drowning in them. So there may be a slowdown in zucchini recipes. However, the tomato plants on the other hand are loaded and about to start turning red! And the cucumbers are just starting to come into their own, so I’ll be trying a few different pickle recipes in the near future as well (including my mother-in-laws, fingers crossed I manage to replicate it relatively closely)!

But anyways, we still have quite a few zucchini/squash in the fridge. I was trying to plan dinner the other day knowing we had leftover crockpot chicken and zucchini that needed to be used (Hubby has been making some delicious crockpot chickens lately, I’ll share those another day). I was also in the mood for something comfort-food-esq. So, after much debating and ruling out of less healthy ideas I decided on chicken zucchini enchiladas!

Now, don’t get me wrong, these are only moderately healthy. They still are creamy and cheesy and delicious. But I generally assume if I manage to add extra veggies to a dish and go light on whatever fat is included it’s healthy… right? Well, that’s my reasoning anyways.

P.S. the Greek yogurt is fantastic in this, possibly better than the sour cream!

Creamy Chicken and Zucchini Enchiladas

½ medium sweet onion, sliced (one of the many wonderful things about living in the south, Vidalia’s are
10 for $10 at Kroger pretty much all summer)
1 Tbs lime juice
¼ c beer (I used XX – it’s what Hubby was drinking while I was cooking)
1 c shredded chicken
1 zucchini, grated
1 jalapeno, seeded and diced
2/3 c plain Greek yogurt
½ c grated sharp white cheddar
6 taco sized whole wheat tortillas
Verde salsa
Avocado for garnish
Pre-heat oven to 375⁰.

Heat a little olive oil in a medium sauté pan over medium heat. Add onion and cook for about 5 minutes. Add lime juice and beer and cook for another 5-10 minutes, or until most of the fluid has cooked off.

In a large bowl mix together the cooked onions, chicken, zucchini, jalapeno, yogurt and cheese. Make sure all ingredients are through and evenly combine.

Pour about a ¼ c of the verde salsa into the bottom of your baking pan to prevent sticking. Spoon about 1/6th of the mixture into a tortilla and roll, placing it in the pan with the exposed edge down. Repeat until all of the filling has been used. Cover the enchiladas with verda salse and bake for about 30 minutes.

We topped ours with fresh avocado and Spanish rice.

