Tags

, , , ,

I think I’ve mentioned my hubby’s love of Chinese’s food before. Combine that with my new-found obsession with the crockpot and my love of Pintrest and you have the inspiration for this dish. I actually stayed pretty true to the recipe on this one (shocker, I know. I was in a rush making it so I didn’t have a lot of time to get creative, I will next time though, don’t worry) and I thoroughly enjoyed the resulting dish. However, I think when we make this again, and trust me – we will make it again, I’ll cut back on the soy sauce and add a little vinegar and sesame oil. I’ll probably add more spice to it as well.

I served it with a rather random assortment of veggies, julienned and stir fried. I kept them pretty simple with a touch of sesame oil, some Sriracha, and a few spoonfuls of the sauce from the chicken. By the way I have recently been introduced to jicama, a Mexican root vegetable, which I love! We had half of one just sitting in our fridge so I tossed it into the veggie stir fry. Hubs and I both loved it. It added a great crunch, and maintained its crispness even when I reheated it.

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1 c honey
½ c soy sauce
½ onion, minced
¼ c ketchup
1 Tbs olive oil
2 Tbs lime juice
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 jalapeno, minced
4 teaspoons cornstarch dissolved in 6 Tablespoons water
Sesame seeds
Place chicken into the crockpot.

In a small bowl, combine all remaining ingredients and whisk together. Pour over chicken. Cook on low for 4 hours.

Use two forks to shred the chicken (we did this while it was still in the crockpot, allowing it to soak up even more of the sauce). Serve over rice

