Tags

, ,

I should probably name these something along the lines of Laura’s Random Peppery Herb-ed Pickles, but that didn’t quite have the same ring. I have no doubt we’ll be doing some variation on these again. I like them because they’re an easy, three step process and I have lots of room to experiment. This first batch was made for two reasons; first we have a ton of cucumbers in our crisper because our vines are producing like crazy, and secondly because my brother-in-laws birthday was long past and we still needed to get him a birthday present. He is uniquely difficult to shop for, more so than your average guy, in my opinion. And he love food, particularly the homemade stuff (luck for him my sis is a phenomenal cook). So, I decided to make him something.

So he was gifted with a big jar of these (it was a very cute reusable jar, by the way!) this past Sunday. I got a call from him on Wednesday to say thanks again and can they have the recipe because they’ve already finished the pickles. So, here is my attempt at remember what all I out in there.

 Quick Spicy Dill Pickles

3 medium-large cucumbers
Salt
2 c white vinegar
1 c water
6 Tbs sugar
½ c fresh dill, chopped
4 super chilies, sliced in half (they are this little red pepper the hubs decided to grow this year)
2 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp ground black pepper
1 tsp whole coriander seeds
Dash salt and ground red pepper

2 large glass jars with lids

Cut the cucumbers into ¼ inch slices. Put in a colander over the sink and salt evenly. Allow to sit for about 30 minutes.

While those sit, all remaining ingredients to a stock pot and bring to a boil, stirring occasionally.

Place cucumber slices into your jars and carefully pour the hot liquid over them. Allow to cool to room temperature before closing the jars. You can eat them as soon as their cool!

