Tags

, , , , ,

Meet another Pinterest recipe! I was trying to figure out what to make for my Wednesday night book club (yes, I’m in a book club and it’s awesome!) and remembered I had pinned something a while back that involved cucumbers. Well, since we have cucumbers coming out our ears, I thought that would be a good one to try. Plus it would be relatively healthy, which is always a plus with a group of women – everyone seemed to enjoy them! Now, of course I veered from the recipe, mostly just simplifying.

I will definitely make theses again, they were cute and tasty and fresh. However, word to the wise, these should really only be made a few hours in advance. Having made them about 24 hours prior to the event the cucumbers lost some of their crispness and they were sitting in water by the time I got to my girlfriend’s house. I had even put a paper towel in the top of the Tupperware in hopes of absorbing some of the moisture.

Another note, I used a vegetable peeler, which worked wonderfully for the thin slices. However, I found the center of the cucumber to be too thin and weak to hold up to slicing. When I made these this time I just sliced straight into the middle and then switched to the opposite side when the seeded area became too wide.  Next time I’ll just rotate around the cucumber as I go so I use the entire exterior portion.

Cucumber Roll-Ups

2 cucumbers
2 Tbs plain Greek yogurt
¼ c crumbled feta (I suggest a flavored variety – I used garlic and herb)
Splash lemon juice
1 Tbs minced fresh dill and basil
Toothpicks

Using a vegetable peeler (or a mandolin) thinly slice your cucumber – I suggest rotating as you go because I found the center seedy-area to be too weak to hold up to slicing. Place slices on paper towels and gently pat dry with another paper towel before using.

In a small bowl, mix together the yogurt, feta, lemon juice and herbs.

Spoon a small amount of the mixture onto one end of a slice of cucumber. Roll from filled end and hold together with a toothpick. Repeat until all of your cucumber slices are used. If not using immediately, store in the refrigerator – I suggest placing a paper towel in the top of the Tupperware holding these to help absorb some of the moisture.

