Tags

, , , , , ,

Yep, this is another Pinterest inspired recipe (I know, I know, I am kind of obsessed… but I keep finding such good food inspiration there!). This was last week’s book club as well; I was feeling indecisive so I made two things. I kept seeing these various filled strawberries on Pinterest. Some people were doing the “cheesecake” and others were filling them with straight chocolate. Both sounded pretty delicious to me, so I decided to combine the ideas! Thus were born chocolate dipped cheesecake strawberries (I’m sure I’m not the only one to decide these should be created)!

These were actually really easy to make and looked pretty too! However, I may rethink how I arrange them post chocolate dipping. By sitting them on their tops like I did the chocolate was prone to sliding off when you picked them up. I also made these the night before, so I think that moisture was causing the chocolate to separate from the strawberry, I’m guessing that if served within a few hours of making them this wouldn’t be an issue.

Chocolate Dipped Cheesecake Strawberries

1 container strawberries (mine had about 16 – 18)
4 oz cream cheese
1 – 2 tsp cream (or half&half)
1/4 – 1/3 c powdered sugar
6 – 8 oz semi-sweet chocolate chips

Wash strawberries and cut down, around the top of the strawberry. Remove the top and gently hollow the berry out with a paring knife. Prep all berries and set aside.

Whisk together the cream cheese, cream and powdered sugar. Spoon mixture into a Ziploc with the corner snipped off and fill each berry with cheesecake mixture.

In a deep glass measuring cup melt the chocolate in the microwave, stirring regularly to keep it from seizing up.

Dip the strawberries into the melted chocolate, top first, and set onto wax paper to set. If not serving immediately, refrigerate until serving.

