Tags

, , , ,

I think I have professed my love of breakfast here before, which is funny seeing as I’m not a morning person. Maybe that’s part of the reason I love breakfast so much, because good food makes waking up worth it! Despite my love of breakfast, I don’t actually make it all that often. I’m way too enamored with sleep to wake up early enough to make breakfast on week days. Weekends are often so busy that there are more pressing matters then an indulgent breakfast.

This dish arose from a collection of factors: lack of plans; an episode of Dinners, Drive-Ins, and Dives featuring stuffed French toast; a loaf of bakery bread and cherries which needed to be eaten; and some left-over sweetened cream cheese filling from the strawberries. These things, combine with a hungry me = stuffed French toast with boozy cherries! While this was a little more labor intensive then normal French toast, I think it was totally worth it (the hubs loved it as well)!

Stuffed French Toast with Boozy Cherries

2 thick slices of bread (I used leftover bakery bread that I sliced myself into 1” slices)
Sweetened Cream cheese (from the strawberry recipe)
1 egg
½ c milk
Dash cinnamon and nutmeg
1 c pitted and halved cherries
¼ c water
¼ c whiskey
1 Tbs butter

Gently cut into the bread slices through the top crust down towards the bottom crust without cutting all the way through, creating a pocket. Use a butter knife to gently smooth the cream cheese mixture into the pocket.

Whisk together the egg, milk and spices.

Lay the stuffed bread slices in a small, flat-bottomed dish. Pour the egg mixture over them and soak for 10 minutes. Flip the bread over and soak for another 10 minutes.

While the bread soaks, put the cherries and liquid into a small sauce pan over medium heat. Stir occasionally.

Melt the butter in a cast iron skillet over medium heat. Once the butter is completely melted and the pan is hot, add the bread. Cook for 6 – 10 minutes on each side, or until it begins to look toasted.

Serve topped with the cherries and a dash of powdered sugar.

