Tags

, , ,

So… apparently I’ve not been so good about remembering to take pictures recently. Just like the couscous I totally forgot to take a picture the night we ate this. So please excuse the mediocre photography and the paper bowl. This was taken at work. Woops!

Despite my love of Cajun food, I don’t actually cook it all that often. I’m not sure why, but the hubs has definitely noticed and has recently requested more Cajun food (what can I say, the man likes spicy food!). Between the hub’s persistence and the new Cajun cookbook my dad got me for my birthday (Oo, and a huge package of catfish we snagged at Costco) I settled on catfish etouffee.

I’ve always love etouffee’s. Maybe I just love anything saucy and poured over carbs… but either way, it came together pretty quickly and was delicious. It even reheated beautifully the next day for lunch, just didn’t look quite as appetizing. I would love to do a crawfish version for my hubby, but they are darn difficult to find here in Atlanta. I’ve found frozen crawfish tails a few times, but the fresh ones are rare. So maybe that will have to wait until we make it down to New Orleans and he can try the real thing! Until then, this will have to suffice.

2 Tbs Olive Oil
2 Tbs flour
1 small onion, diced
1 green bell pepper, diced
1 tsp garlic, minced
1 can beef broth
1 pound tomatoes, coarsely chopped
1 Tbs lemon juice
1 Tbs Worcestershire sauce
4 super chili peppers, chopped
1 bay leaf
Healthy dash black pepper, dried thyme, oregano
¼ c chopped fresh parsley
2 catfish fillets

Heat oil in a large saucepan over medium heat and thoroughly whisk in the flour. Continue stirring until the combination turns a hazelnut color.

Add onion, bell pepper, and garlic, cook for about 10 minutes. Add everything except the catfish and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat to and cover; simmer for 30 minutes.

Drop in the catfish. As they cook gently break them into smaller pieces. Cook for about 10 minutes, or until fish is completely cooked.

Serve over rice.

