Tags

, , , ,

I don’t know about you, but I generally plan out our dinner menu for the week on Sunday. That way I can make a grocery list and it helps keep me organized. That said, there are times when the best laid plans get sidetracked. Last weekend I had planned to make gumbo for dinner on Sunday for the hubs. However, I ended up going to catch a movie with a girlfriend and didn’t get home in time to make Gumbo. So I switched gears and decided to see if I could quickly pull together the chicken dish that was slated for later in the week.

Sure enough, this meal came together in about 30 minutes and was pretty darn easy, reasonably healthy too. Ironically enough it was actually inspired by a crockpot recipe, but I was in a hurry and turned it into a pretty great quick dinner, if I do say so myself. This will definitely be making a repeat appearance in our house (the hubs was a fan)! Although we may turn it into taco’s next time; I think that would be a very tasty way to serve it.

2 chicken breasts
1 Tbs olive oil
½ medium onion, chopped
1 green bell pepper, chopped
1 jalapeno, diced
2 – 4 cloves garlic, minced
4 tomatoes, chopped
2 c salsa (I used a great homemade version the hubs had whipped up a few days before)
1-2 Tbs lime juice
1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
1 c frozen corn
Healthy dash chili powder, cumin, black pepper, and coriander
1 Avocado, chopped
Cheddar cheese
Cooked rice (I used brown rice)

Bring about 4 cups of water to a boil in a medium sauce pot and gently drop in the chicken. Allow to cook for about 10 minutes.

While the chicken cooks, heat olive oil over medium heat in a large pan. Add onion, bell pepper, jalapeno and garlic and sauté for about 10 minutes. Add the tomatoes, salsa, lime juice, black beans, corn and spices and bring to a low boil.

Remove the chicken from the boiling water and cut into chunks. Add the chicken to the boiling mixture and reduce heat. Simmer, covered, for about 15 to 20 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Serve over rice and cheese, top with the chopped avocado.

