Tags

, , ,

I can never get my curries to taste like the ones in the restaurants. I’ve tried all kinds of things but they’re never as creamy, nor do they match the flavors. The hubs and I keep testing different version and this recent yellow curry is probably the closest I’ve gotten to an Indian restaurant style curry (still haven’t gotten very far with a Thai-style curry). Of course, I didn’t follow the recipe to a T. I kept pretty close, but added a lot more veggies then was called for in the original recipe.  I loved it, the hubs thought it was ok, but then he’s not really a big Indian food fan.

The next goal will be to see if I can get closer to a Thai-style restaurant curry, the hubs is certainly rooting for that. If you have one, we would love the recipe!

3 Tbs olive oil
1 small onion, chopped
3-4 cloves garlic, minced
3 Tbs curry powder
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp paprika
1 bay leaf
1 tsp minced fresh ginger
1/2 tsp white sugar
2 chicken breasts, chopped
½ green bell pepper, sliced
1 small yellow squash, sliced
4-6 Roma tomatoes, chopped
1 c green beans
2-4 red super chili peppers
1 tablespoon tomato paste
1/2 c plain greek yogurt
1 1/3 c coconut milk
2 tsp lemon juiced

Heat olive oil in a skillet over medium heat. Add onion, cooking until lightly browned. Stir in garlic, curry powder, cinnamon, paprika, bay leaf, ginger, and sugar. Continue stirring for 2 minutes.

Add chicken pieces, bell pepper, tomato, squash, and green beans, stirring until they are all coated with the spice mixture. Add the chili peppers, tomato paste, yogurt, and coconut milk. Bring to a boil, reduce heat, and simmer for about 25 minutes.

Remove bay leaf and stir in lemon juice. Simmer about 5 more minutes.

Serve over rice (basmati is great with it).

 

