Tags

, , , ,

I absolutely love to bake; unfortunately, unless I want to resemble a hot air balloon, it’s not something I can do terribly often. So when wonderful opportunities such as birthdays present themselves, I jump on the chance to do some baking. One such birthday prompted these cupcakes, along with a mutual love of all things chocolate and peanut butter.

Now I probably should have been brave and tried out a new version of chocolate frosting, but I just love the French Silk so much I have trouble reverting to other types. So, true to form, I frosted these with French silk, and embellished with a little melted semi-sweet chocolate, mini-chips and peanuts. Honestly I’m rather proud, as these are probably one of the better looking deserts I’ve managed. I can lie, my food usually tastes pretty good, but it rarely looks like something to write home about. It’s always gratifying when things turn out as pretty as they are yummy.

Peanut butter banana cupcakes

2 Ripe bananas
2 eggs
½ c white sugar
½ c packed brown sugar
¼ c oil
½ c plain Greek yogurt
2 tsp vanilla
1 c creamy peanut butter
2 c flour
3 tsp baking powder
¼ tsp salt
1 c 2% milk

Pre-heat oven to 375⁰

Blend the bananas, eggs and sugar until smooth. Add oil, yogurt and vanilla and continue to mix. Add peanut butter.

In a small bowl combine the dry ingredients and mix.

Slowly pour into the dry ingredients into the mixer. Once you’ve added all the dry ingredients add the milk. Once the mixture is thoroughly combine pour into a lined cupcake tin, filling each about ¾ full.

Bake 15 to 20 minutes. Allow to cool completely before frosting.

Betty Crocker’s French Silk Frosting

2/3 c butter, room temperature

2 oz unsweet chocolate, melted and cooled

2 2/3 c powdered sugar

1 tsp vanilla

2 Tbs milk

Beat butter, sugar, chocolate and vanilla in medium bowl on low speed until blended. Gradually beat in milk until light and fluffy.

