Tags

, , , ,

I have a serious sweet tooth… If I could eat dessert with every meal and not resemble the goodyear blimp, I would. Thus, I have a tendency to try to create healthier sweets so I don’t have to feel so guilty about eating them (something which drives the hubs nuts, by the way). If I can cut back on the sugar and fat content and add fruit, I find it much easier to justify eating it! This tasty and exceptionally easy cobbler definitely fits that bill. It is also super flexible and works beautifully with just about any kind of fruit.

I have actually made this twice, before getting it up on the blog. Both times I served it without ice cream, and while it would be a nice addition (because really, when isn’t ice cream a nice addition) it really wasn’t missed. Also, the second time I made it with peaches and added a little brown sugar over the top to get a little caramelization on the top of the crust. It’s definitely not necessary, but it is pleasant.

Also, on the not necessary note, you can totally omit the butter if you want. It adds a pleasant buttery flavor to the crust, but it would still be quite tasty without it.

1 c bisquick (I used the heartsmart)
½ c sugar
½ c milk
1 Tbs butter, cubed
4 – 6 plums, sliced

 

Preheat oven to 375⁰.

Layer the sliced plums on the bottom of an 8”x8”x2” baking pan.

In a small bowl, whisk together the bisquick, sugar and milk. Pour mixture over the fruit. Top with the butter.

Bake for about 30 minutes or until the top is golden brown.

