Tags

, , , , , ,

Not pretty, but very tasty!

I don’t know if I’ve told you this before, but I had never really used a crockpot until we got the one off our registry. I mean, I knew how awesome they were supposed to be, thus why I registered for one, but I had simply never used one. Well, we have had ours for over 4 months now and I’m already addicted! We’ve done curry, whole chickens, pork loins, and beans. Now I just want fall to hurry up and get here so we can start making soups! I have quite a few pinned and even more in mind to get simmering!

Anyhow, this dish was inspired in part, by a similar dish my mom makes in the oven. The rest of the inspiration was based on what was in the fridge that needed eating… What can I say; there was orange juice, pork chops, and mushrooms. The hubs loved it, in fact he didn’t even complain about the brown rice (which is a first, he usually hates brown rice). All in all, I think this easy dinner will be added to the rotation!

2 thick cut pork chops
1 ½ c brown rice
4 oz mushrooms
½ sweet onion, chopped
1 stalk celery, chopped
½ bell pepper, chopped
1 can cream of mushroom soup
1 ¾ c orange juice
2 Tbs balsamic vinegar

Place pork chops in the bottom of the crockpot, cover with uncooked rice and the veggies.

In a small bowl, whisk together the soup and orange juice. Pour into the crockpot. Pour vinegar over everything.

Turn crockpot on low for about 4 ½ hours.

We served it with green beans.

