Tags

, , ,

I pinned this recipe months ago, actually kind of thinking it might be good for my Christmas baskets. But it got pushed aside by item I deemed easier. Well, having finally gotten around to making it, I must admit I was wrong. This was definitely easy! It was a little time consuming, but not overwhelmingly so.  It is also super delicious (fair warning, this will disappear almost immediately, it’s that good)! The original recipe calls for adding coffee to the chocolate layer, something I opted not to add in favor of an un-caffeinated dessert. I’m sure it would be a tasty addition; I may try it next time.

Honestly I’m looking forward to playing with this recipe. I think there are lots of potential variations for this that would be delicious; mint chocolate, turtle, orange chocolate, cookies and cream… I could keep going. That said, I don’t know that I’ll be trying any of these out any time too soon… All the sweets I’ve been making are only serving to remind me that I’m trying to get back in shape (and am currently failing).

I would love to hear about any creative variation y’all figure out!

[Adapted from How Sweet It Is]

12 oz semisweet chocolate chips (I used ghirardelli for both)
11 oz white chocolate chips
1 can (14oz) sweetened condensed milk
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/2 tsp coconut extract
1 Tbs coconut oil
1/2 c flaked coconut, toasted

Spray an 8×8 pan with non-stick spray.

Add semisweet chocolate and ½ Tbs coconut oil to a double boiler over medium-low heat and melt completely. Once it’s melted, add the vanilla and stir until completely incorporated. Slowly add half of the sweetened condensed milk. Stir until combined and smooth – mixture thickens up quite a bit in this step. Spread evenly in the bottom of the pan and place in the freezer for 30 minutes.

Add the white chocolate and ½ Tbs coconut oil to a double boiler over medium-low heat and melt completely. Once it’s melted, add the coconut extract and stir until completely incorporated. Add in remaining condensed milk, stirring until combined and smooth. Remove fudge from freezer and add white chocolate, spreading evenly over the top. Top with toasted coconut and chill in the refrigerator for about 2 hours, or until firm.

Use a sharp knife to cut fudge into your desired size of squares.

