Tags

, , , , , ,

One of my friends brought these amazing little ham sandwiches to book club back in July. They were warm and melty and flat out delicious. I was already plotting my own version when I remembered a similar snack my mom and I would make when I was younger – Ham, Swiss and pineapple melts. I quickly realized the two should be combined, and thus the sandwich was born. Let me tell you, I was REALLY excited about making this… the hubs on the other hand, not so much.

What you have to understand is that the hubs has eaten a sandwich for lunch 4 out of 5 work days, every week, for forever… So when I propose sandwiches for dinner, he’s pretty much guaranteed to put up a bit of a fight. I mean, the man eats an absurd number of sandwiches (I basically never take a sandwich for lunch, like ever) so even a really great one like this don’t exactly get him excited.

8 mini Hawaiian Rolls
2 Tbs onion, diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 Tbs butter
2 tsp olive oil
2 tsp lime juice
1 – 2 Tbs pineapple juice
1 tsp Worcestershire
2 Tbs brown mustard
¼ lb ham
¼ lb swiss cheese
4 – 6 thin slices of Pineapple
1 tsp poppy seeds

Pre-heat the oven to 375⁰.

In a small sauce pan over medium low heat melt the butter and add the olive oil. Add the onion, garlic, lime juice, pineapple juice, Worcestershire, and mustard; cook for about 10 minutes.

While this cooks, slice the Hawaiian rolls in half without separating the rolls. Spread 2/3 of the onion mixture over the bottom of the rolls. Layer on the ham, pineapple and swiss cheese and replace the tops of the rolls. Pour the remaining onion mixture over the top of the sandwiches and top with poppy seeds.

Wrap the sandwiches in foil and bake for about 15 to 20 minutes or until the cheese is completely melted. Then enjoy!

