Tags

, , , ,

Lime Sugar Cookies

I have a deep and abiding love for all things lime. Diet Coke with Lime, Key Lime anything, Lime and Chili cashews, Mojito’s, the list could go on for a while. So when I happened upon this recipe on Pintrest I just HAD to try it out. I made a few small changes and  these were wonderful. I was not disappointed! If you like lime, I would definitely recommend trying these out.

These we’re delicious and refreshing. They were a hit at the engagement dinner I made them for (the Hubs really liked them too). Plus they disappeared from the breakroom at work (my own personal sweet food disposal) by lunch!

Lime Sugar Cookies

[Adapted from The Girl Who Ate Everything]

2 3/4 c flour
1 tsp baking soda
½ tsp baking powder
½ tsp salt
1 c butter, softened
1 ½ c white sugar
1 egg
½ tsp vanilla extract
zest of one large lime
4 Tbs lime juice
½ c sugar for rolling cookies
Preheat oven to 350⁰. Line cookie sheets with parchment paper.

Combine flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt in a small bowl. Stir together and set aside.

Beat the butter and sugar. Slowly add the egg, vanilla, lime juice and zest. Gradually add the dry ingredients.

Roll dough into 1” balls and roll in sugar. Place on prepared cookie sheets about 1 to 2 inches apart.

Bake 8 to 10 minutes or until lightly browned.

Let cool on the cookie sheet for about 2 minutes before removing to cool on wire racks. Allow to cool completely before storing.

