Tags

, ,

Tomato and Wine Baked Shrimp

We are still harvesting tomatoes almost every day. I think we can safely say our garden was successful this year! Now, since we still have so many I’m still trying to find fun new ways to use them and was intending to do a variation on a stuffed tomato. However, I was feeling super lazy when it came time to make dinner, so…. the planned recipe morphed into this.

The initial idea was kind of a cross between a deconstructed stuffed tomato and shrimp scampi. As I started cooking the dish leaned a bit closer to the scampi side of thing. Fortunately it turned out well and the Hubs really liked it (I also liked it).

Next time I make something like this I may add a breadcrumb layer to the top and possibly a bit of basil…

Tomato and Wine Baked Shrimp

½ c white wine
2 Tbs Lemon juice
2 Tbs butter, melted
1 Tbs olive oil
4 – 6 cloves garlic, minced
½ sweet onion, thinly sliced
2 medium-large tomatoes, chopped
2 red jalapenos, seeded and chopped
2 Tbs parsley, chopped
1/3 c shredded parmesan
2/3 lb shrimp

Pre-heat oven to 375⁰.

Combine everything except the parmesan and shrimp in a 8” or 9” glass baking dish. Bake for 15 minutes. Add the shrimp and parmesan and bake for another 10 minutes, or until shrimp are cooked. Serve over pasta.

