Tags

, , , ,

Fall Crockpot Soup

I’m not really a cold weather girl. Don’t get me wrong, I love a good dusting of snow, a big winter fire, hot chocolate, hot soup, Christmas and many other trappings of winter; but the cold itself, not a huge fan. I mean, I spend most of winter desperately trying (and generally failing) to get my feet warm.  That said, I adore fall! The cool down from the summer heat, the changing of the leaves, boots, apples, and pumpkin everything… I mean, what’s not to love!?!

We have been enjoying some cooler fall temps this week and in honor of such (and because I’ve been dying to make a crockpot soup ever since I discovered the awesomeness that is the crockpot) soup was made this week! Like many of my soups it’s kind of hard to name it since it’s a general hodgepodge of veggies in chicken stock, this time with ground turkey.  I really just threw a bunch of veggies the hubs had grabbed at the grocery store and some remaining stuff from the garden and crossed my fingers. It turned out quite tasty (and healthy too!) and definitely has our wheels turning about other soups! And the best part of all… all you do is dump the ingredients in and then enjoy at the end of the day!

1 lb ground turkey
1 can mixed beans, drained and rinsed
1 can corn, drained and rinsed
½ sweet onion, chopped
½ green bell pepper, chopped
4 – 6 roma tomatoes, chopped
½ c shredded carrots
1 habanero, minced (side note: this is from our garden and very ripe, as such its actually reasonably mild once cooked)
4 super chili peppers, cut in half
3 cloves garlic, minced
3 sprigs fresh rosemary
1 tsp fresh minced sage
1 tsp fresh minced basil
2 bay leaves
1 tsp black pepper
2 c chicken stock (homemade after the last crockpot chicken)
2 c water

Combine in crockpot and cook on low for 8 to 10 hours. We served it with some toast sticks.

