Tags

, ,

Crockpot Brunkwick Stew

Not pretty, but tasty!

There is something about soup that is just comforting. So I’m always happy when it cools off enough to start making soup again. Because really… who wants hot soup when it’s 100⁰ degrees outside? Certainly not this girl! However, the cooler fall weather has me in the mood for soup. I started soup season with a fall turkey and veggie soup. This week it was time to test out a crockpot version of one of the hub’s favorite soups: Brunswick Stew.

I googled around for some recipe inspiration and then just kind of combine bits and pieces of my favorites to create this recipe. Which, if I do say so myself, is a pretty good one. I’ll probably go chicken only next time I make this to cut down on the fat. Bust other than that, the hubs and I both really enjoyed this. I actually had leftovers for lunch twice this week!

Side note, I’m back to counting calories, so I thought I would share the approximate nutritional info to some of my recipes. I’m getting this info by entering the recipe into My Fitness Pal, so they may not be perfect! Also, I will not be adding these to desserts… Mostly because I don’t want to know! J Just let me know if there are any recipe from the archives you would like to get calorie counts for.

1 beer (12 oz) – I used a Bud Light
¼ c bbq sauce
1 – 2 tsp Worcestershire
2 c chicken broth
1 can fire roasted tomatoes (14 oz)
1 can tomato paste (6 oz)
½ a roast chicken
1 lb ham
½ c shredded carrots
1 c frozen Okra
1 c frozen Corn
1 c frozen Lima beans
1 medium sweet onion, chopped
1 potato, chunked

Combine all ingredients in a crockpot and cook on low for 8 to 10 hours.

8 Bowls: 1 Bowl – (estimated) 378 Calories, 32.9 g Fat*, 42.9 Carbs, 6.4 g Fiber, 26.4 g Protein

* Taking the ham out of this recipe would reduce the fat by quite a bit.

