Tags

, ,

Raspberry Cheesecake Frozen Yogurt

I’m a bad daughter and didn’t make it to all of my mom’s birthday celebration last month (I know… daughter fail). So, to make up for it the hubs and I hosted mom and her gentleman for dinner recently. I was trying to come up with a dessert that she would like but that also wouldn’t make us all gain 20 lbs. I found a pretty tasty looking recipe on SkinnyTaste for cheesecake bars, seeing as cheesecake is one of mom’s favorites I decided to try them out. However, after thinking about it a bit longer, I decided I wanted to show-off my super awesome new ice cream maker. Thus, I made Raspberry Cheesecake Frozen Yogurt.

Now, I really liked this and I think mom did too. The hubs wasn’t quite as sold, but I think that was partially because he was pulling for ice cream, not fro yo. I’ll also be breaking my dessert calorie count rule since the goal here was a lighter dessert. Calories are at the bottom of the recipe.

4 oz fat free cream cheese
½ c sugar
1 Tbs Lemon Juice
1 tsp vanilla
1.5 c vanilla greek yogurt
1.5 c 2% Milk
3 Tbs No-Sugar Added Raspberry Preserves

In a mixer, beat cream cheese and sugar until fluffy, add lemon juice and vanilla. Add yogurt and beat until well combined. Slowly pour in milk, scraping the side to make sure there are no lumps.

Pour mixture into ice cream maker and add the preserves to the top. Freeze according to manufacturer’s instructions. Pour into a freezer safe container and freeze for at least 4 hours to set.

Garnish with gram crackers.

8 servings: 1 Serving – (estimated) 130 Calories, 0.9 g Fat, 23.7 Carbs, 0 g Fiber, 6.7 g Protein

