Tags

,

Gouda Jalapeno No-Knead Bread

After my semi-disastrous attempt at Apple Cinnamon Bread, I decided I needed to redeem myself with a bread I (hopefully) couldn’t screw up. After reading about this one, I was pretty sure I could manage it. This was yet another find from Pintrest – and I am so glad I pined it! It really was as easy and fool proof as purported, and will definitely be made again. The only (teeny-tiny) drawback to this recipe is the shear amount of time the dough needs to rest. I let mine rise for 18 hours…

However, the finished bread was entirely worth the wait! I made it for dinner with my mom and her gentleman. The four of us managed to eat well over half the loaf before dinner. Everyone loved it, so I think I can safely call this bread a success! Even if it didn’t rise as much as I would of liked…

Here’s where I got the base recipe, as well as the inspiration for my version.

3 c flour
1 ¾ tsp salt
½ tsp yeast
1.5 c water
4 red jalapenos, seeded and diced
2 c shredded gouda cheese

Wisk together the flour, salt and yeast in a large mixing bowl. Add water, jalapenos and gouda and mix until completely combine. Cover bowl with plastic wrap and allow to rise for 12 to 18 hours (somewhere warm and still works best).

Pre-heat oven to 450⁰. Once hot place cast iron pot with lid into the oven for 30 minutes.

While the pot heats, drop the dough onto a well-floured surface and form into a ball – use lots of flour, it’s a very sticky dough. Cover with plastic wrap.

Carefully remove pot from the oven and lightly spray bottom with cooking oil (I used olive oil spray). Drop in the dough, cover and return to the oven for 30 minutes. Remove the lid and bake for another 10 to 15, or until the top looks lovely and brown.

Remove from the pot (I did this with a flexible spatula to loosen the loaf and a big metal spatula to actually remove it from the pot) and allow to cool for 10 minutes before cutting.

12 Slices a Loaf: 1 Slice – (estimated) 156 Calories, 3.5 g Fat, 23.3 Carbs, 1.1 g Fiber, 7.6 g Protein

