Tags

Dill Chicken Orzo Casserole

I have a bit of a thing for casseroles. I’m really not sure why, honestly they can be a bit more work intensive then some of my other dinners. However, I generally feel like it’s worth it. This one in particular I found in a cook book the hubs and I got for Christmas this year. Of course, I doctored the original recipe quite a bit, and have plans for further additions next time I make it. (After deeming this this recipe a keeper, the hubs and I spent half of dinner discussing what could be added to improve the dish, we decided on mushrooms and broccoli.)

This would be a great way to use leftover chicken (or turkey – thanksgiving is getting pretty close) and I’m always trying to find recipes that help me use up leftovers. In fact, I’m thinking it will make another appearance whenever the hubs decides to do a whole chicken again – something which has been happening about once a month, either in the crockpot or smoked.

8 oz orzo, partially cooked and drained
2 chicken breasts, boiled and shredded
1.5 Tbs olive oil
1 Tbs flour
1 red bell pepper, chopped
½ medium sweet onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 Tbs capers, roughly chopped
14 oz chicken broth
2/3 c frozen peas
1 Tbs dill
1 – 2 tsp ground black pepper
1.5 Tbs lemon juice
1 Tbs Dijon mustard
6 oz plain Greek yogurt

Whisk together oil and flour in a large sauté pan over medium heat. Continue stirring until the mixture turns a medium brown color. Reduce heat a bit and add the onion, bell pepper, and garlic; cook for 10 minutes. Add the caper and sauté for another 2 to 3 minutes. Add the broth, peas, dill, pepper, lemon, and mustard. Bring to a low boil and simmer for 10 to 15 minutes, until slightly reduced. Remove from heat and whisk in the yogurt.

Pre-heat oven to 350⁰.

Layer the orzo into the bottom of a casserole dish and add the chicken over top. Carefully pour the broth and vegetable mixture over everything. Bake for about 30 minutes.

4 Servings: 1 Serving – (estimated) 439 Calories, 7.1 g Fat, 54.6 Carbs, 2.8 g Fiber, 40.8 g Protein

