Tags

,

Homemade Tortillas

I was playing around on Pintrest, as I do most days, when I came upon a recipe for tortillas. It looked super easy; so, obviously, I pinned it! Fast forward a few days (or weeks maybe, not entirely sure) and I was making shredded pork tacos for dinner (sharing that recipe next), but we were short on tortillas -cue light bulb moment- and I remembered that recipe I saw. I don’t know if I ever would of thought to make my own tortillas without seeing this recipe on Pintrest.

The hubs was not at all convinced that making tortillas was necessary or worthwhile (he was on clean-up duty… that may have had something to do with it) but was completely converted by the results. As in may or may not have agreed that we should just stop buying tortillas. They’re that easy, and tasty, and cheap to make. Plus, I really like the fact that if it’s homemade you know exactly what’s in it and you get to skip the preservatives. Moral of the story: tortillas are super easy to make!

Now I’m just trying to decide which spices I should add next time to make them extra tasty and fun!

1 c flour
2 scant Tbs olive oil (think about 1.8 Tbs)
1/3 c water

Mix all ingredients in a bowl to form an elastic dough. Pull off 2” chunks and use fingers to press into a circle on a well-floured surface. Using a rolling pin, roll into a 6” to 7” circle (if you’re anything like me your dough will not roll out into a perfect circle…).

Gently shake off the excess flour and drop into a hot, ungreased pan (I think cast iron would be particularly good, I didn’t use mine this time around, I will next time). Cook on each side until you get brown spots.

5 tortillas: 1 tortilla – (estimated) 131 Calories, 5 g Fat, 18.4 Carbs, 0.8 g Fiber, 3.2 g Protein

