Tags

, ,

Spicy-Citrus Fish Tacos

So, the hubs took last week off and then we ran off to the mountains for a few days (which was a blast and wonderfully relaxing), so I have done next to no cooking recently! Thus my absences here… But last night I got back on the horse and thus finally have something to share. I’ve been trying to work more fish into our diet, as well as more veggies. These definitely fit the bill on both accounts (plus I got to make tortillas again!). Now, you can make these lighter by ditching the avocado, but I figure its good fat and exceptionally tasty, so I generally opt to add it.

The hubs and I both liked these and I’m pretty sure they’ll make the menu again sometime soon. Side note, they are super messy and you’ll need lots of napkins! Some sharp white cheddar might be really good on these as well.

Fish

4 Tbs hot salsa
2 Tbs lime juice
¼ c orange juice
1 Tbs minced cilantro
2 cloves minced garlic
¼ sweet onion, sliced
11 oz fish filets (I used Tilapia)

In a medium sauce pan (with a lid) combine everything but the fish and stir together. Cook over medium heat for about 5 to 10 minutes to allow the flavors to combine. Add the fish and cook, covered, for about 4 to 5 minutes; flip and cook for another 4 to 5 minutes, or until fish is cooked through (my filets weren’t very thick).

4-5 servings: 1 Serving – (estimated) 77 Calories, 0.6 g Fat, 5.3 Carbs, 0.5 g Fiber, 12.2 g Protein

Jalapeno-Cilantro Slaw

3 cloves garlic
2/3 bunch cilantro
½ c lime juice
¼ c olive oil
¾ a cabbage, thinly sliced
1 to 2 jalapenos, minced
Dash cumin, coriander, and black pepper

In a food processor puree the garlic, cilantro, lime juice, olive oil and spices. In a large bowl, combine the pureed mixture, cabbage and jalapenos. Allow to sit so the flavors will combine.

6 servings: 1 Serving – (estimated) 151 Calories, 14.2 g Fat, 7.7 Carbs, 2.4 g Fiber, 1.6 g Protein

