Tags

, , , , ,

Brie Apple Tarts with Sage Brown Sugar

My older sister is far more artistic then I and not only create very tasty food; but usually, very pretty food (my little sister is as well, but she generally manifests her artistic-ness in the form of drawings, paintings, sculpture). If you look back at my archives you can tell pretty is not what one would normally use to describe my food. Honestly I tend to focus on the flavors and ignore the aesthetics… So , when I was trying to decided what to bring to my sister’s party on Sunday (it was a “gender reveal party” – She and my Brother-in-Law are having a little girl!) I wanted to do something that would be pretty as well as tasty. Oooo, and I wanted to use apples… because I love them and their so good this time of year!

So… I decided an apple and cheese tart was in order. At first it was going to be an apple tart with blue cheese and candied nuts, but that after chatting with my sis it morphed into a brie apple tart. Then, after some googling and perusing of recipes (this one was the bulk of my inspiration – only her’s prettier), I decided it would be nice to add a little brown sugar and sage. Thus this recipe slowly came together. It was actually pretty easy in terms of cooking difficulty, but it was a little time consuming arranging the apples and creating the little decorative leaves.

Whole Brie Apple Tarts with Sage Brown Sugar

It actually has already been requested for Thanksgiving this year, so I’m going to consider it a success! Although I can already tell you I’ll be changing it up a bit for next time, adding some cranberries!

Crust:

1 c flour
¼ tsp salt
6 Tbs cold butter, cut into pieces
¼ c ice cold water

In a food processor (or using a pastry cutter, if you have one) pulse together the flour, salt and butter until it creates a mealy mixture. Slowly pour in the cold water, until it begins to stick together. Press into a ball and wrap in plastic wrap. Pop into the fridge for a few minutes to set.

Tarts:

1.5 -2 large apples (I used Gala)
1 8oz wheel of lite brie
¼ c brown sugar
1 tsp fresh sage, minced

Pre-heat the oven to 400⁰ and grease a 9” cake tins (if you have a tart pan, I’m totally jealous and suggest you use that instead of my less refined method).

On a well-floured surface, roll out the dough into circle large enough for 9” cake tin. Lay the crust into the pan, gently pressing it all the way into the corners of the pan. Cut off any excess crust which exceeds the sides of the pan. Reserve the crust trimmings if you want to create any decorative details (like fall leaves!).

Cut the round of brie in half – to make 2 circles – and then into 8 wedges. Lay these evenly over the bottom of the crust. Sprinkle the sage and brown sugar over the brie.

8 servings per tart: 1/8 a tart – (estimated) 235 Calories, 12.6 g Fat, 21.7 Carbs, 1.2 g Fiber, 10.1 g Protein

