Tags

,

Sweet and Spicy Pineapple Meatballs

Well, I’m finally out of my turkey coma and the paint fumes have settled (we spent almost the entire long weekend painting our greatroom – it took forever, but it looks great!). Sharing a great break from thanksgiving fare with this recipe. Added bonus, it’s quick and easy!

The hubs told me I couldn’t post this recipe because I didn’t make the meatballs in it… I decided to ignore him because it was really tasty, really easy and sometimes you just need a less involved dinner idea. While I’m sure you could make your own meatballs for this and it would be lower fat and extra tasty; the Aidells Caramelized Onion Chicken Meatballs are really quite good and all you have to do is open the package and dump them in. (And if you’re wondering, no I wasn’t paid, perked or otherwise asked to promote that product, I just like them).

2 tsp olive oil
1 colored bell pepper
½ medium sweet onion
1” ginger root, peeled and minced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 can crushed pineapple in pineapple juice
Dash black pepper, coriander, all spice, and cardamom
1/3 c bbq sauce
2 Tbs apple cider vinegar
2 Tbs lime juice
1 – 3 tsp Sriricha
½ package Aidells Caramelized Onion Chicken Meatballs (12 – 14)

Heat oil in wok over medium heat. Add onion, bell pepper, ginger and garlic and sauté for about 10 minutes. Add all remaining ingredients and bring to a boil. Lower heat and simmer, stirring occasionally, for 15 to 20 minutes.

Serve over jasmine rice.

3 servings: 1 serving  – (estimated) 398 Calories, 12.2 g Fat, 60.9 Carbs, 2.6 g Fiber, 16 g Protein

(Over 1 c jasmine rice: 638 Calories, 12.9 g Fat, 112.9 Carbs, 3.2 g Fiber, 18 g Protein)

