Tags

, , , ,

Lamb Stew

The hubs and I tend to be healthy people. So when a cold or other form of sickness invades our home, I’m not a happy camper… The hubs had a chest cold last week and it seems to have morphed into a head cold for me this week. Aside from making me a bit grumpy (I detest being sick) it’s also making me crave soup.

This was started with (more) of the left over roast lamb the hubs picked up at Costco. We had frozen a good sized chunk for later use, and it came out for this meal. This wonderful stew really embraces the rich flavor of the lamb and since it’s a crockpot soup, it’s really, really easy to make. Definitely one I plan on making again.

2 to 3 lb. boneless lamb, chopped into chunks
1 sweet onion, chopped
1 c. carrots, chopped
1 head broccoli, chopped
1 large apple, chunked
1/2 c. prunes, chopped
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 tsp cumin
1 tsp turmeric
1/2 tsp cayenne
1/2 tsp ground allspice
Dash salt and black pepper
1 can (14 oz) diced tomatoes, with juices
2 c. chicken stock

Combine all ingredients in a crock pot, stir to combine. Cook on low for 8 hours.

