Tags

, , ,

Caramelized Onion Dip

I was playing on Pintrest the Tuesday before Thanksgiving when I came upon this lovely recipe for a baked onion dip. I instantly fell in love with the idea, and called my dad to let him know that I would be bringing a baked onion dip as well as the previously requested apple and brie tart. After further review of the recipe I knew I wanted to alter the recipe a bit (big shock there). I decided to caramelize the onions first and from there pretty much created an entirely new recipe… Apparently I didn’t read the recipe very well prior to grocery shopping.

By the way, this went over wonderfully, everyone loved it and I think it will stay on my appetizer rotation! It was delicious and well worth the work! Plus I used some of the leftovers as a spread on toast, topped with a fried egg – talk about a tasty breakfast! Side note, crumbled bacon could be a lovely addition to this dip.

1 ½ sweet onions, sliced
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 tbs butter
¼ c white wine
8 oz fat free cream cheese
1 plain greek yogurt (about 6 oz)
Black pepper
Small dash cayenne
1 c parmesan

In a medium pan (with a lid) melt one tablespoon of the butter over low heat. Add onions and garlic, cover and cook for about 6 minutes. Reduce heat to very low and stir in 2 tablespoons of white wine. Cover and cook for another 6 to 10 minutes. Melt in the remaining tablespoon of butter, cover and cook for 10 minutes. Stir in remaining white wine, cover and cook until the onions are brown and very soft, between 10 and 20 minutes.

In a mixer (with whisk attachment) beat together the cooked onions and all remaining ingredients until well combined. Spoon into an oven proof dish (1 quart).

Bake for 25 to 30 minutes at 375⁰.

Serve with crackers of crostini.

For entire recipe (estimated) 1,188 Calories, 52 g Fat, 81 Carbs, 92 g Protein

